New regions: Limited Reg. exercise to proceed despite court suit – EC

The impending referendum for the creation of the six new regions will still be held despite the Supreme Court suit challenging the exercise, the Electoral Commission has said.

The EC is to hold a referendum in parts of the country for the creation of six additional regions following a recommendation by the Justice Brobbey Commission to government.

The 19-member Commission after holding nationwide consultations urged government to create the administrative regions to be known as Oti, Ahafo, Brong East, Western North, North East and Savanna.

A road-map for organizing the referendum was approved by the EC at its recent Inter Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) meeting.

However, a Public Interest Advocacy Group, Strategic Thinkers Network-Africa has filed a suit at the Supreme Court praying the apex court to restrain the Electoral Commission from restricting the upcoming limited voter registration to only the yet to be created new regions.

In a writ filed by the defendant in the Superior court of Judicature argued that the arrangement cannot be deemed to be in accordance with due process of law and therefore unconstitutional.

Addressing the media in Accra, Chairperson of the commission Jean Mensah acknowledged receipt of the writ but explained there is no injunction on the exercise.

“The suit was delivered yesterday but it was not with an application and therefore it cannot be held to be binding an effective injunction on the commission and therefore that is why we are going ahead with the exercise as planned”.

The EC boss further announced a timetable for a limited registration exercise covering 47 districts affected in the creation of the new regions.